Being Vegetarian!!!

Definitely more than eating just fruits and salads…

Being Vegetarian: An Ethical Perspective

Ethics:

Love of animals – I love animals as I love myself. I have no desire to kill them or cause them harm.

Stance against Factory Farming – I cannot make a statement against factory farming if I myself eat animals.

Respect for Sentient Life – I show gratitude to my Creator(s?) by eating as low on the food chain as possible.

“Economic Vote” – I show support of the meat industry and the way they operate when I purchase and use their products.

Small sacrifice – The sacrifice I make is nothing compared to the animals, its life.

Natural diet – Our hands, teeth, feet, intestinal tract…even our body chemistry is that of an herbivore.

Reciprocity – If I partake in the slaughter of animals, I will have to repay my contribution to that act.

“Protecting the Temple” – “Whatever affects the body has a corresponding effect on the mind and soul” (E.G. White)

I believe in nonviolence – Slaughter isn’t.

World Peace – There can never be peace among men while men are declaring war on other highly developed life forms.

Clear conscience – I know what I’m doing is right. I feel good inside about my decision to remain “meatless.” To live this way is to protect the underlying values of those around me.

Easy substitutes – There are vegetable based substitutes for every meat product imaginable.

courtesy: http://www.britishmeat.com

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2012 by in Perspective, Philosophy and tagged , , , , .